CAS Number: 9000-59-3 EINECS Number: 232-549-9 Source. This is only necessary when one is definite Shellac has been used. It has a number of uses, including being used to coat small chocolates and sweets as a glazing agent and to reduce moisture loss in fruit. E904 Shellac : a resin from the lac insect ... Shellac: Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents: Halal if no if it is not treated with alcohol, two types of shellac is available, the Halal type is not treated with alcohol but other type is treated with alcohol. European Union Approved Food Additive: E904 - Glazing Agent Vegetarian, Kosher and Halal certificates available. The MuftÄ«s are unanimous that Shellac is permitted for consumption. It is also used to replace the natural wax of the apple, which is removed during the cleaning process. of shellac â¦ Answer: Eating insects or anything from them is commonly considered khabith ( filthy) and hence it is haram (forbidden) to consume them. Shellac, or E904, is a glazing agent made from the secretion of female lac bugs. E904: Shellac: Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents Glazing with Shellac is not Halal because alcohol is used to dissolve the Shellac and then evaporate before glazing on food products. Raw shellac, which contains bark shavings and lac bug parts, is heated over a fire causing it to liquify. Pure Shellac without alcohol is Halal because it is a insect secretion. Flakes are dissolved in denaturedalcohol to make liquid shellac. Where shellac is only used as a coating on apples etc, washing it off thoroughly will render it Halaal. REACH exemption statement available. E904 Shellac A natural polymer derived from the lac beetle. It takes about 100,000 lac bugs to make 1 lb. Food category: Glazing agent [animal origin] Natural polymer derived from certain species of lice from India . Shellac is a natural gum resin secreted on trees by the lac bug. After fertilization, the female lac bug finds a spot on a tree and creates a layer of shellac that covers herself entirely.  When used for this purpose, it has the food additive E number E904 P.S. Shellac Åellak Nedir ne demektir, Helal mi Haram mÄ±, Åellak (shellac) E904 Nedir kÄ±saca, Åellak böceÄi, Åellak caiz mi Halal: Halal: E904: Shellac: Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents: Halal: Halal if no if it is not treated with alcohol, two types of shellac is available, the Halal type is not treated with alcohol but other type is treated with alcohol. In this cocoon-like place, the lac bug lays her eggs, which will be protected thanks to the shellac. Is shellac halal (permissible) to consume in Islam? E913 Lanolin A naturally-occurring wax extracted from sheepâs â¦ South African National Halaal Authority, E904 (Shellac) For more information regarding COVID-19, visit the Department of Health's information page: www.sacoronavirus.co.za Itâs used as an ingredient and coating in food. 09/28/05: E907: Refined Microcrystalline Wax E100 Curcumin, turmeric [Colouring] halal E101 Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), formerly called lactoflavin (Vitamin G) [Colouring] [likely to be GM] mushbooh E101a Riboflavin-5'-Phosphate [Colouring] [likely to be GM] mushbooh E102 Tartrazine [Colouring] [possible allergic reaction] halal E103 Chrysoine Resorcinol [Colouring] ? The thick sticky shellac is then dried into flat sheets, broken up into flakes, bagged and sold. It is used as a coating found in products like Confectionary, fruits. We understand that a recent Fatwa issued by Darul Uloom Karachi and endorsed by the internationally renowned scholar, Mufti M. Taqi Usmani Saheb (DB), shellac is Halal and hence it can be â¦ Shellac is a natural resin refined from Lac, the resinous secretion of the tiny scale insect Kerria lacca. haram E-code E904:Shellac. A gummy secretion material from the pores of a insect Coccus lacca that feed on Palas trees in India and South Asia. Acceptable daily intake is not determined.